Email

Or simply email us:

All of us team@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Ian Walker ianwalker@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Lauren Preedy laurenpreedy@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Bridget Garrood bridgetgarrood@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Kim Stradling kimstradling@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Kris Seed krisseed@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Fiona Griffin fionagriffin@familylawandmediation.co.uk
David Howell Richardson dhr@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Sandy Powell sandypowell@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Karen Elliott karenelliott@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Nicole Phare nicolephare@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Paul Jacobs pauljacobs@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Leanne Cornock-Stark (Practice Manager) leannecornock-stark@familylawandmediation.co.uk
Our support team support@familylawandmediation.co.uk

Ian WalkerIf you send or leave a message…

If your message is about an existing case, please make sure you give the case reference or enough details so that we know who you are and who our client is (if it isn’t you).

If you have not seen us before then if you are emailing or messaging and would like a call-back, then if there is a good time to call you please say. Also if there is a time to avoid, say that as well.

Please think carefully about the best and safest way for us to contact you, in order to avoid any possible risk or embarrassment.

Telephone Calls

All of our telephone numbers will come through to our support team.

If you call outside of office hours, (9-5pm), your call will be taken by our call minding service. They will take a message and one of our team will get back to you on the next working day.

If out of hours – the best way to contact us is by email.

Post

All post should be sent to our Administrative Centre at:

Ian Walker Family Law and Mediation Solicitors

Vantage Point,

Pynes Hill

Exeter,

Devon,

EX2 5FD

Document Exchange

We do not use the document exchange to receive letters or documentation

Service of Documents

Our address for service is our postal address at:

Vantage Point, Pynes Hill, Exeter, Devon EX2 5FD

We do not accept service of documentation or proceedings at any of our other addresses.

We will accept service of documents by email to the appropriate fee earner – BUT ONLY BY PRIOR AGREEMENT

Paying your Bill

Please click on this link which will take you to our Payment Page

Professional Matters

The use of the Internet or our contact form or messaging or a telephone communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an solicitor-client relationship.

Our solicitor (or mediator)/client relationship starts when you have agreed to the terms of business that we will have sent to you.

We should also refer you to our legal notices page, and in particular to our Website Privacy Policy and Privacy Policy.

We are committed to protecting your privacy.

Latest News

Who owns court documents?

Court proceedings can generate a vast quantity of documents. These include applications, statements and, most importantly, judgments and orders. Normally of course the court, the parties and their lawyers will access court documents

Read more
Welcome to Lisa Holden and Elle West and Julia Sacco

We are delighted to welcome solicitors Lisa Holden and Julia Sacco and Elle West to our team. This takes our legal team to 16 qualified lawyers supported by 8 trainee and future trainee lawyers and means that we are comfortably amongst the

Read more
What is matrimonial property, and why is it important?

In a recent case the Court of Appeal had to consider whether a certain asset comprised ‘matrimonial property’. But what is matrimonial property, and why is it important?

Read more
Research suggests separated parents in deprived areas more likely to use family courts

As we all know, the distribution of wealth in England is not evenly spread. Many areas of the country are poorer than others, and that certainly applies to parts of the ‘catchment area’ of Ian Walker Family Law and Mediation Solicitors.

Read more
Husband not entitled to rent from wife who occupied matrimonial home

When a couple divorce the former matrimonial home can be sold. (What happens will depend on the needs of the family). If this happens, it may take some months. Until the sale is completed just one party will normally remain in occupation.

Read more
BBC executive case demonstrates court’s approach to contributions, needs and conduct

When a court considers a financial remedies application on divorce it will take into account a number of factors. Three of those factors are the contributions of each of the parties to the marriage (both financial and otherwise

Read more
Managing a growing practice / Welcome Carolyn Croft and Lis Bellamy

We are delighted to welcome solicitors, Carolyn Croft and Lis Bellamy to our team. Carolyn Croft joins us as a consultant solicitor from fellow Legal 500 practice; Kitsons.

Read more
Approach to domestic abuse allegations in children cases considered by Court of Appeal

We discussed here just last week a case in which a father was seeking contact with his children and the mother opposed the father’s application, claiming that he had subjected her to extreme coercive and controlling behaviour.

Read more
Can I obtain maintenance to get me through the divorce?

When a couple divorce financial arrangements are generally one of the last things to be finalised before the divorce goes through. Indeed, any financial settlement, maintenance, whether agreed or ordered by the court.

Read more
Controlling father found to be “profoundly dangerous”

We wrote here last September about a case in which a mother responding to the father’s application for contact with their children had sought to use ‘similar fact’ evidence. Similar fact evidence is evidence that does not directly

Read more
Wives pay the price of divorce

It is a common concern that on divorce wives fare worse financially than husbands. The main argument goes that even today in most marriages husbands are the ‘primary’ breadwinner, and that as a result wives have, on average

Read more
Three steps to a painless divorce

Some argue that the New Year is the busiest time of the year for new divorces, with many people apparently deciding to ‘do away with the old’ and make a new start in life by getting divorced.

Read more